Ruzter Tales

August 12, 2009

Chopper Pedals and Wire Wrapping

Filed under: Projects — Ruzter @ 2:23 am

I decided to switch the plastic pedals on the chopper bike for some metal ones I had. This led to an interesting discovery.

Here is the metal pedal

P1140032

And if you take off the outside piece to clean it up, you are left with this. Now THAT is a chopper pedal!

P1140030

I wanted to dress up (hide my crappy welds) where the fork was attached. I used an old technique I came up with years ago after I saw how sword grips were covered.

You take some wire, twist it with a drill, and then wrap it around the fork. The tricky part here is that the curve makes the inside tighter than the outside, but it still does the job.

P1140033

In this case I painted the wire to match. This also looks great if you use silver or gold coloured hobby wire. I had some sterling silver wire that would have looked awesome, but these 2 wraps took over 60 feet of wire.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

